Posted by: asianfilmreviews | September 8, 2009

Zhang Ziyi says women shouldn’t be directors?


If Zhang Ziyi’s own words are to be believed, then women should not be directors. Why, you might ask? Because it’s too hard. Aww, let me play you a sad song on the world’s smallest violin:

Tell this to Kathryn Bigelow, director of films like Point Break and, more recently, The Hurt Locker, the latter of which is easily one of the very best films in recent memory. Or how about Korean director Kim Mee-Jeong (김미정), who wrote and directed one of my favorite Korean films –  Shadows in the Palace (궁녀). Then there’s Chinese director Xu Jinglei (徐静蕾), who rose above her critics who claimed she was nothing more than a pretty face and whose sophomore feature Letter from an Unknown Woman (一个陌生女人的来信) won best director prize at the 2004 San Sebastian International Film Festival. Aren’t you glad these women ignored any thoughts they might have had about “directing is too haaaaaaaaaaard”? I know I am.

Kathryn Bigelow totally rocks

Kathryn Bigelow totally rocks

Responses

  1. Crap. First time I tried to post this comment it punted and I lost it. Maybe I’ll try again later. It was rather long to try and recreate right now.

    Have you seen any Naomi Kawase films?

  2. Indeed, though I haven’t seen many of her films. I’m most familiar with Mourning Forest as I own that film. There are some excellent female directors out there (too bad Eva Jin isn’t one of them – she obviously needs to mature more than a little bit). Another one I forgot to mention is Ann Hui of Hong Kong.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

